CCSA Announces Women's Postseason Awards

CCSA Announces Women's Postseason Awards

CHARLOTTE, N.C. ( – Florida Gulf Coast senior Gracie Redding (Orlando, Fla.) has been named the CCSA Women's Swimmer of the Year, while sophomore teammate Megan Wakefield (Ontario, Canada) is the CCSA Women's Diver of the Year for the 2018-19 season. In addition, UNC Asheville junior Skylar Rogan (Athens, Ga.) is this year's Scholar-Athlete of the Year honoree, the CCSA announced Tuesday.

Redding was the lone swimmer at the 2019 CCSA Championships to win three events as she defended her 50 (22.65) and 100-free (49.10) titles. Her 100 fly was the second-fastest in school history and earned an NCAA B-cut qualifying time. She also contributed in three relays and helped the Eagles claim the 200-yard free relay title. Redding was named the Most Outstanding Swimmer of the Meet for the second consecutive year and accomplished it while competing with fractured ribs.

Wakefield captured both the 1-meter and 3-meter dive events at the CCSA Championships en route to being named Diver of the Meet. She set the FGCU school record on the 3-meter board with 336.50 points. In addition to her two titles at the meet, she also registered the highest score in the exhibition platform. Wakefield earned three CCSA Diver of the Week honors during the regular season and competed on all three boards at 2019 NCAA Zones Championships. That marked the first time a student-athlete has accomplished that feat in program history for two straight years.

Rogan is pursuing a double major in psychology and health & wellness at UNC Asheville and is a member of Psi Chi, a psychology honors society. Her cumulative GPA sits at 3.956 and she has been named to the Chancellor's List three times (4.0) in five semesters, while never earning a GPA lower than 3.888. She also earned a summer internship with Carolina Pediatric Therapy and is an active member of Asheville's SAAC. Rogan is the school record holder in the 500, 1000 & 1650 freestyle as well as the 800 & 400 free relays. In addition, Rogan was also a member of the all-conference 800-free relay team at the 2019 CCSA Championship.

Also nominated for Swimmer of the Year: Taylor McMinn (Campbell), Tessa Walsh (Gardner-Webb), Bre Stuart (Georgia Southern), Mikayla Herich (Liberty) and Morgan Rulevich (UNC Asheville)

Also nominated for Diver of the Year: Gretchen Mossburg (Georgia Southern) and Olivia Robinson (Liberty).

Also nominated for Scholar-Athlete of the Year: Maddie Baiotto (Campbell), Christina Elmgreen (Florida Gulf Coast), Emily Nordberg (Gardner-Webb), Bre Stuart (Georgia Southern) and Alicia Finnigan (Liberty).