Florida State, LSU and South Carolina To Play in #NCAABeachVB Championship

Florida State, LSU and South Carolina To Play in #NCAABeachVB Championship

Follow @CCSA_Beach

NCAA Beach Volleyball Championship Bracket

LakePoint, Ga. - The Coastal Collegiate Sports Association (CCSA) received three bids to the 2017 NCAA Beach Volleyball Championship as Florida State was joined by LSU and South Carolina. The Seminoles are making their second appearance, while this year's selection is the first for LSU and South Carolina.

The Seminoles repeated as CCSA Champions this season after going undefeated through pool play and then winning against Florida International in the finals. Florida State will enter the NCAA Championship as the No. 4 seed and take on No. 5 Hawaii in the opening round. FSU is 27-7 this season and had a signature win against Pepperdine. The Seminoles made it all the way to the NCAA Championship match, before falling to USC. 

LSU, which enters its first NCAA Championship with a 26-6 record. The Tigers have had a tremendous season as they won a school-record 20 consecutive games during the season and climbed to No. 7 in the national polls. They remained steady in the poll for the second half of the year and are led by CCSA All-Conference pair of Claire Coppola and Kristen Nuss.

After receiving two bids last season, the CCSA made history this season with three bids as South Carolina earned the eighth and final seed to the NCAA Championship. The Gamecocks are 23-9 entering the NCAA Championship after falling in pool play at the CCSA Championship. Ali Denney and Katie Smith earned CCSA postseason recognition as they were voted to the All-Freshman team. They feature two pairs with 20 or more wins and will look for a big upset when they take on the defending champions, Southern California, in the opening round. 

The Championship begins on May 5th and will follow a double elimination bracket format. No. 8 South Carolina will be the first CCSA team to compete at 10 AM, before No. 4 Florida State takes the courts at 11 AM. No. 7 LSU will face UCLA in the opening match, which begins at noon on May 5th. All games will be available on NCAA.com with truTV also providing TV coverage on all three days.