Courtesy: Coastal Collegiate Sports Association
View larger

2013 CCSA Championship Preview
Courtesy: Coastal Collegiate Sports Association  
Release: 02/20/2013
Print RSS


CHARLOTTE, N.C. ( - The Coastal Collegiate Swimming Association (CCSA) travels to Athens, Ga., as thirteen schools will face off for the 2013 CCSA Swimming and Diving Championship.   Action begins Thursday, Feb. 21, at Gabrielsen Natatorium on the campus of the University of Georgia, and will continue through Saturday, Feb. 23. 

Florida Gulf Coast, under the direction of head coach Neal Studd, looks to capture its fifth consecutive women's CCSA Championship title.  The Lady Eagles will look to seniors Danielle Beauburn and Eva Lehtonen, sophomore Emma Svensson and freshman Julie Leth-Espensen for big performances this weekend.  Beauburn is looking to become a four-time All-Conference honoree in the 200-medley relay and 400-medley relay, while Leth-Espensen holds the Conference record in the 200-yard backstroke, 200-yard IM and 400-yard IM.

College of Charleston, led by 2012 CCSA Coach of the Year Bruce Zimmerman, enters the Championship as the men's defending champion, and also won the title in 2008 and 2009.  The Cougars will turn to senior Peter Gibbons to capture the diving events.  Gibbons looks to become a four-time All-Conference honoree in the 1-meter and 3-meter diving events and holds the Conference record in the 1-meter board with a score of 315.15.  Looking to dethrone the Cougars is Davidson, who won the Championship in 2010 and 2011.  Davidson's Drew Onken is pursuing his fourth All-Conference honor in the 200-breast, 200-IM, 400-IM, 800-free relay and 400-medley relay.

The CCSA Championship events will begin daily at 10:00 a.m.  For live scoring, video streaming, ticket prices and other Championship information, please visit  Live updates will also be given via the CCSA twitter handle @theCCSA. 

About the CCSA

The CCSA is a Division I men's and women's swimming conference comprised of 13 members from the following regional conferences: Atlantic Sun Conference (Florida Gulf Coast, North Florida); Big South Conference (Campbell, Gardner-Webb, Liberty, Radford, UNC Asheville, VMI); Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference (North Carolina A&T, Howard); and the Southern Conference (College of Charleston, Davidson, Georgia Southern).

< Back


More InfoLaunch PlayerLoginJoin Now
No Live Events in the Near Future